Cherwell District Council

Council

Minutes of a meeting of the Council held at Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, OX15 4AA, on 21 July 2014 at 6.30 pm

Present:	Councillor Alastair Milne Home (Chairman) Councillor Melanie Magee (Vice-Chairman) Councillor Ken Atack Councillor Andrew Beere Councillor Claire Bell Councillor Maurice Billington Councillor Maurice Billington Councillor Fred Blackwell Councillor Norman Bolster Councillor Norman Bolster Councillor Ann Bonner Councillor Mark Cherry Councillor Colin Clarke Councillor Surinder Dhesi Councillor Surinder Dhesi Councillor Andrew Fulljames Councillor Michael Gibbard Councillor Carmen Griffiths Councillor Carmen Griffiths Councillor Chris Heath Councillor Chris Heath Councillor David Hughes Councillor Tony Ilott Councillor Mike Kerford-Byrnes Councillor Mike Kerford-Byrnes Councillor Nicholas Mawer Councillor Nigel Morris Councillor Nigel Randall Councillor Nigel Randall Councillor Alaric Rose Councillor Dan Sames Councillor Les Sibley Councillor Lawrie Stratford Councillor Rose Stratford Councillor Nicholas Turner Councillor Nicholas Turner
Apologies for absence:	Councillor Diana Edwards Councillor Russell Hurle Councillor Ray Jelf Councillor Kieron Mallon Councillor Jon O'Neill Councillor Lynn Pratt Councillor Neil Prestidge Councillor Barry Richards Councillor Trevor Stevens

Councillor Douglas Webb **Councillor Bryn Williams** Councillor Douglas Williamson Councillor Sean Woodcock

Officers: Sue Smith, Chief Executive Calvin Bell, Director of Development Karen Curtin, Commercial Director (Bicester) Ian Davies. Director of Community and Environment Tim Madden. Interim Head of Finance and Procurement Kevin Lane, Head of Law and Governance / Monitoring Officer Emma Faulkner, Democratic and Elections Officer

Declarations of Interest 20

Members and Officers declared interests in the following agenda items:

11. 2013/14 Treasury Management Annual Report.

Councillor Dan Sames, Non Statutory Interest, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Development Company Limited.

Councillor David Hughes, Non Statutory Interest, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Holdings Limited.

Councillor James Macnamara, Non Statutory Interest, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Holdings Limited and Graven Hill Village Development Company Limited.

Councillor Nigel Morris, Non Statutory Interest, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Development Company Limited.

Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE, Non Statutory Interest, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Holdings Limited.

Councillor Surinder Dhesi, Non Statutory Interest, as a Trustee of Banbury Citizens Advice Bureau.

Karen Curtin, Declaration of interest, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Holdings Limited and Graven Hill Village Development Company Limited.

Sue Smith, Declaration of interest, as a Director of Graven Hill Village Holdings Limited.

Communications 21

The Chairman advised Council that a list of engagements he or the Vice-Chairman had attended since the last meeting of Council had been included in the agenda pack.

22 Petitions and Requests to Address the Meeting

There were no petitions or requests to address the meeting.

23 Urgent Business

There were no items of urgent business.

24 Minutes of Council

The minutes of the meetings of Council held on 16 June 2014 and 7 July 2014 were agreed as correct records and signed by the Chairman.

25 Minutes

a) Minutes of the Executive, Lead Member Decisions and Executive Decisions made under Special Urgency

Resolved

That the minutes of the meeting of the Executive and Lead Member decisions as set out in the Minute Book be received and that it be noted that since the last meeting of Council, three Executive decisions had been taken by the Executive which were not included in the 28 day notice relating to the Oxfordshire Strategic Economic Plan, Build! ® Programme Phased Delivery and Land Acquisition.

b) Minutes of Committees

Resolved

That the minutes of Committees as set out in the Minute Book be received.

26 Questions

a) Written Questions

There were no written questions.

b) Questions to the Leader of the Council

Questions were asked and answers received on the following issues:

Fulfilment centre at Graven Hill: Councillor Lawrie Stratford Credit Union: Councillor Melanie Magee (Vice-Chairman) Credit Union and Brighter Futures Scheme: Councillor Andrew Beere Credit Union: Councillor Matt Johnstone Fulfilment centre at Graven Hill: Councillor David Hughes Fulfilment centre at Graven Hill: Councillor Les Sibley

Council - 21 July 2014

Car parking machines: Councillor Surinder Dhesi Installation of rising bollard in Kidlington: Councillor Alaric Rose Likening of public policy to the Holocaust: Councillor Dan Sames Oxfordshire Growth Board: Councillor Andrew Beere Trees planted to mark CPRE 80th Anniversary: Councillor Les Sibley Unadopted roads on the Cattle Market development: Councillor Claire Bell

c) Questions to Committee Chairmen on the minutes

There were no questions to Committee Chairman on the minutes of meetings.

27 Motions

There were no motions.

28 General Fund and Capital Programme Provisional Outturn 2013-14 Carry Forward and Capital Slippage

The Director of Resources and the Interim Head of Finance and Procurement submitted a report which sought approval of revenue budget carry forwards for 2013-14 and capital slippage requests in line with the Council's Financial Procedure Rules.

Resolved

- (1) That the items shaded in Appendix 1 (annex to the Minutes as set out in the Minute book) which are revenue budgets recommended by Executive for carry forward be approved under financial procedure rule 2.4.6 (b).
- (2) That the capital slippage items detailed in Appendix 2 (annex to the Minutes as set out in the Minute book) recommended by Executive be approved for carry forward to the 2014-15 capital programme under financial procedure rule 2.4.6 (b).
- (3) That paragraph 2.4.6 of the Financial Procedure Rules be amended to require the approval of Accounts, Audit and Risk Committee to relevant carry forward requests rather than Full Council.

29 2013/14 Treasury Management Annual Report

The Director of Resources and the Interim Head of Finance and Procurement submitted a report which detailed performance and compliance with treasury management policy during 2013/14, as required by the Treasury Management code of Practice.

Resolved

(1) That the 2013/14 Treasury Management Annual Report be noted.

30 Accounts, Audit and Risk Committee Annual Report 2013/14

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report which presented the Annual report of the Accounts, Audit and Risk Committee for 2013/14.

Resolved

(1) That the Accounts, Audit and Risk Committee Annual Report 2013/14 be noted.

31 Budget Planning Committee Annual Report

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report which presented the Annual Report of the Budget Planning Committee for 2013/14.

Resolved

(1) That the Budget Planning Committee Annual Report 2013/14 be noted.

32 Overview and Scrutiny Committee Annual Report

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report which presented the annual report of the Scrutiny Committee for the 2013/14 year.

Resolved

(1) That the Overview and Scrutiny Annual Report 2013/14 be noted.

33 Questions on Exempt Minutes

There were no questions on exempt minutes.

The meeting ended at 7.35 pm

Chairman:

Date: